Monday, February 23, 2009

Bad Doctors Experience


So on Wednesday Feb 18 was one of the worst days I have ever had at the doctors. Since Maurice was out of town I went to this one by myself thinking it was be as normal as any other one. Boy was I wrong.

I arrive at the office at 1:45 my appointment is at 2pm (im always on time)  I look for my doctor's clip board to sign-in and I dont see her name.  I ask the girl at the desk for my doctor's clipboard and she tells me that she is on medical leave. I asked her when was I going to be told then she of-course says she called me, which did not happen. So I asked who am I seeing she says. Linda a Nurse Practitioner. I am now confused because they can not deliver babies so why would I see her.  A little upset I sit down and wait. 

I look around to notice a lot of other sad and angry looking pregnant women in the room so I ask the lady next to me who was her OB with tears in her eyes she tells me that she does not know. She is due in two weeks and has no clue who is going to deliver her baby.  She starts to tell me that she has seen 5 different doctors through out her whole pregnancy. 

Come to find out that my doctor was pregnant. If I had of known I would have never picked her because she is further along then me so there would be no way she could deliver me.

So my name is called and I go back in the room. I get weighed (129) and I wait. and wait and wait. for a freaking hour. Normally I am in and out in 15 minutes. I leave the room and ask if I have been forgotten about and they  said that "He" will be in. I said I thought I was seeing Linda they said no we switched you to Dr. Cho. AHHHHH Now Im getting more upset because I feel like no one knows what is going on. I call my brother and talk to him, while I am trying not to break down.

Finally the doctor walks in. I tell him what I have been going through and ask if he is going to deliver me. He says he does not know he is only subbing for the day. ahhhhhhhhhh So he quickly lets me hear Skyla's heartbeat and asks me if I have any questions. So I bust out my paper. But half of my questions dont not matter because it is up to my doctor and since I dont have a freaking doctor I can not get my questions answered.

However, he did kind of reassure me with one thing. The doctor that put me on baby aspirin and bedrest does that to every one is his patients. He showed me my tests and it showed that everything is ok.  Nothing read abnormal.  He said that doctor does that for the insurance money. So it is good to know that I am ok but sucks to know that I was being taken advantage of and I have been worrying for nothing. 

The exam was over and he says make an appointment to comeback in two weeks. I go to the desk and the girl asks "Who do you want to see?" I said "my doctor" she said "You dont have one yet." Then I said, "Well who am I seeing." She said "Who ever you want to see."  I storm out of the room crying. 

I try to call Maurice but his phone is dead and that is making me more upset because I just need to hear him tell me that everything will be ok.  I am crying so hard that I can not drive. My friend Jason calls me and tells me to go around the corner and talk to the OB that delivered his son.  I did. 

Tomorrows blog will have that horrible story.

No comments: